• Ms. Becker


By: Claire Legrand

Book 1 of The Empirium Trilogy

Furyborn follows the lives of two different characters - Rielle and Eliana. Their lives are set 1000 years apart.

Rielle is a lady in the court of Celdaria. She is also more powerful than any other human alive. It is only when her closest friend, the crown prince, is attacked, that her multiple powers are shown. That makes people fear her, as there is a prophecy about two queens - a sun queen and a blood queen.

Eliana lives 1000 years after the fall of Queen Rielle. She is known as the Dread or Orline, a bounty hunter. She believes that she is practically invincible - she can't get hurt. She deals with the violence in her life as a way for her and her family to survive.

This book is a wild ride. I will admit at times it is difficult to follow at first, as you are reading the stories of two different lives, 1000 years apart, simultaneously. But, once you start getting into the book, you start to understand how Rielle and Eliana's lives are intertwined. This is definitely a book that made me mad when it ended - because it is a trilogy and I wanted more of the story now!!!! Book two is called Kingsbane, which is out currently (and on the to be ordered list), but the untitled third book won't be out until 2020.

  • Ms. Becker

Monday's Not Coming

By: Tiffany D. Jackson

Monday Charles is missing, but no one seems to notice or care, except for her best friend Claudia. When Monday doesn't show up to school, Claudia starts to ask questions. But everyone keeps dismissing things, Monday's mother won't give her a reasonable answer, and Monday's sister April seems to be hiding something. Monday's missing. Why won't anyone care?

If you want a realistic fiction book that will just not let you put it down, this book is IT. As an educator, it killed me inside. As a human, I died a little. And I cried. That's how much this book affected me. This is a short review, but to say more would take away from reading the book, in my opinion. This is a forthcoming book, on order, so make sure you're one of the first to check it out when it comes in! This won't stay on our shelves for long!

3 views0 comments
  • Ms. Becker

Updated: Sep 2, 2019

The Cruel Prince

by Holly Black

Series: The Folk of the Air, Book 1

This story follows the life of Jude, a human girl who lives in the Faerie lands. At a young age Jude, her twin sister Taryn, and older sister Vivienne were taken by a man named Madoc, who murdered their parents. This is because Vivi is actually part faerie, and the daughter of Madoc. They are raised in the High Court of Faerie as part of the Gentry, though they are human and no true relation to the Faerie. Their humanness is their weakness. They learn the rules they have to in order to survive.

Of Jude's antagonists is Prince Cardarn, the youngest Prince of Faerie. He and his friends are cruel to Jude and Taryn, but Jude does not relent to their cruelty. Jude wants to belong in Faerie, human or not. But when it comes down to it, her humanness is what gets her in the most trouble.

Holly Black does not disappoint when it comes to her characters or story. Jude is a strong female protagonist. The Prince is a conundrum that you think you understand, but as soon as you think you do, something changes. The land of Faerie is gorgeously detailed, and makes you feel as if you are there. The cliffhangers of the first book make you want to grab the second, The Wicked King, right away! With the series finale coming out in November of 2019, this is a must read!!!!

4 views0 comments